The Pure Product • 1986 • Time Travel novelette by John Kessel

★★★

Synopsis:  A time traveler lives through the 1980s. The story follows his road trip where he enjoys his petty crimes and leaves a trail of pointless murders.

Review: At first glance I nearly dropped the reading because I don’t like horror. As the story unfolded I could distance myself from the psychopathic actions and enjoy the protagonist’s musings. It was more like an adrenaline ride through a theme park than a real crime scene. The mystery of what this man is and what his motivations are draws one into the story and at the end, I liked it. I haven’t read other stories from the author – so, I only can guess that the story is linked by other time traveling episodes.

Meta: isfdb. Reprinted online.

 

This entry was posted in Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment