Hugo Award Novel Winners

I haven’t read many of those and reviewed even less; if a review is available, I’ve linked it in the fiction title. Column “review” has four values: 

  • n – read it but didn’t review it
  • y – review is here on the blog, link in the title
  • GR – review is over at GoodReads (too lazy to copy it over to the blog), link in the title
  • (empty) – didn’t read it
Year Title Author review
2020 A Memory Called Empire Arkady Martine  
2019 The Calculating Stars Mary Robinette Kowal y
2018 The Stone Sky N.K. Jemisin y
2017 The Obelisk Gate N.K. Jemisin n
2016 The Fifth Season N.K. Jemisin y
2015 Liu Cixin The Three Body Problem y
2014 Ancillary Justice Ann Leckie y
2013 Redshirts John Scalzi GR
2012 Among Others Jo Walton y
2011 Blackout/All Clear Connie Willis n
2010 The Windup Girl Paolo Bacigalupi n
(tie) The City & the City China Mieville y
2009 The Graveyard Book Neil Gaiman GR
2008 The Yiddish Policemen’s Union Michael Chabon GR
2007 Rainbows End Vernor Vinge n
2006 Spin Robert Charles Wilson GR
2005 Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell Susanna Clarke  n
2004 Paladin of Souls Lois McMaster Bujold n
2003 Hominids Robert J. Sawyer  
2002 American Gods Neil Gaiman  n
2001 Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire J. K. Rowling  n
2000 A Deepness in the Sky Vernor Vinge  n
1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog Connie Willis  
1998 Forever Peace Joe Haldeman GR
1997 Blue Mars Kim Stanley Robinson  
1996 The Diamond Age Neal Stephenson  n
1995 Mirror Dance Lois McMaster Bujold  
1994 Green Mars Kim Stanley Robinson n
1993 A Fire Upon the Deep Vernor Vinge GR
(tie) Doomsday Book Connie Willis GR
1992 Barrayar Lois McMaster Bujold GR
1991 The Vor Game Lois McMaster Bujold  
1990 Hyperion Dan Simmons y
1989 Cyteen C. J. Cherryh y
1988 The Uplift War David Brin  
1987 Speaker for the Dead Orson Scott Card  
1986 Ender’s Game Orson Scott Card  
1985 Neuromancer William Gibson  
1984 Startide Rising David Brin GR
1983 Foundation’s Edge Isaac Asimov  
1982 Downbelow Station C. J. Cherryh y
1981 The Snow Queen Joan D. Vinge y
1980 The Fountains of Paradise Arthur C. Clarke n
1979 Dreamsnake Vonda N. McIntyre  
1978 Gateway Frederik Pohl y
1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang Kate Wilhelm y
1976 The Forever War Joe Haldeman y
1975 The Dispossessed Ursula K. Le Guin y
1974 Rendezvous with Rama Arthur C. Clarke y
1973 The Gods Themselves Isaac Asimov  
1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go Philip Jos‚ Farmer  
1971 Ringworld Larry Niven  
1970 The Left Hand of Darkness Ursula K. Le Guin  n
1969 Stand on Zanzibar John Brunner  n
1968 Lord of Light Roger Zelazny  
1967 The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Robert A. Heinlein y
1966 …And Call Me Conrad (This Immortal) Roger Zelazny  
(tie) Dune Frank Herbert  n
1965 The Wanderer Fritz Leiber  
1964 Here Gather the Stars (Way Station) Clifford D. Simak  
1963 The Man in the High Castle Philip K. Dick y
1962 Stranger in a Strange Land Robert A. Heinlein GR
1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz Walter M. Miller y
1960 Starship Troopers Robert A. Heinlein GR
1959 A Case of Conscience James Blish  
1958 The Big Time Fritz Leiber  
1956 Double Star Robert A. Heinlein  
1955 They’d Rather Be Right (The Forever Machine) Mark Clifton & Frank Riley  
1953 The Demolished Man Alfred Bester y

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s