The Cyborg and the Cemetery • 2013 • shortstory by Nancy Fulda

★★★★

Meta: ISFDB. This Near SF short story appeared in the 2013 anthology Twelve Tomorrows, my review here.

I never heard of the author but the name instantly catched my attention – because I live in a town with the same name 🙂

An elder, rich, and disabled man bids farewell, reflecting on his life, prepares for the future.

It is one of those rare examples where the SF doesn’t turn out to be dystopic – instead of showing dehumanization, his intelligent leg prosthesis gives back humanity.
The author introduces the A.I. prosthesis with a different concept than classical A.I. – it is only intelligent due to the context of being embedded into the wearer’s endocrine system which is as important as pure logic induction.

When do we start becoming cyborgs – are glasses already the beginning? Is it really bad?
Is dead a binary process?
When will cybernetical personalities get human rights?

I found the author’s article which starts answering some of those questions.

I really liked the story’s flow, the interactions of the man with his limb and his granddaughter. Don’t expect action or much world-building, though.
I’ll definitely watch this author!

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Science Fiction, Story veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

